“The House of Chanoine Frères have come far, look far and are going far”

CHANOINE FRÈRES

The film

News

Contact
Credits and legal notices

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn - Gris Cercle
  • Instagram

DRINK RESPONSIBLY

logo info-calorie.png

Made by Diptyque

Copyright © Champagne Chanoine Frères 2019

All rights reserved

 

Since 1730

Founded in 1730, Chanoine Frères is the second-oldest Champagne house.

 

Nearly three centuries later, Chanoine continues to develop its heritage and pass on the pleasure of Champagne, from generation to generation, in France and around the world.

1730

In 1730, under the reign of Louis XV, Pierre Chanoine (1698-1774), a young merchant with an innovative spirit, excavated the first Champagne wine cellars in Épernay. He was one of the first to assemble various cuvées from the region and bottle diverse Champagne wines. Pierre made the judicious choice of setting up his business in the Faubourg de la Folie, along the new royal road that opened France to all of Europe.

 

1741

Pierre Chanoine, a visionary and a dynamic young man, traveled the continent and shipped his Champagne wines to the royal courts of France and all of Europe as far as Russia, where the young tsarina, Elisabeth Petrovna, had just been crowned. She loved parties and costume balls where Champagne and the French spirit bubbled and sparkled.

 

1762

Pierre’s eldest son Jean-Baptiste Chanoine (1724-1790) became an important merchant and notable champenois citizen, building his business and shipping his bottles of “saute-bouchon” (“pop-cork”) wines. Champagne continued its conquest of the aristocracies in France, in England, in the Netherlands, and in the courts of Frederick the Great of Prussia and Tsarina Catherine II, Empress of all the Russias.

 

1787

The brothers Jacques-Louis (1754-1844) and Pierre II Chanoine (1759-1824), sons of Jean-Baptiste and grandsons of the founder, formed an association. Together, in 1787, they founded a house dedicated exclusively to the wines of Champagne.

The French revolution also adopted Champagne at the Festival of the Federation, held on 14 July, 1790 on the Champ de Mars in Paris.

 

1815

The fourth generation, Pierre’s sons Jean-Baptiste (1784-1855) and Jean-Louis (1787-1874), took up the family business. The company officially took on the name Chanoine Frères in 1815, stamping it with the family spirit that has guided its destiny.

It was the year of the Congress of Vienna; diplomats from around Europe celebrated the return on peace at the Champagne suppers given by Prince Talleyrand.

The business prospered, and the Chanoine brothers acquired larger cellars in the Faubourg du Commerce. Jean-Louis served as mayor of Épernay from 1841 to 1848.

 

1855

The Chanoine brothers handed down a flourishing business to their respective sons Eugène (1818-1900) and Louis-Amand (1814-1891). The economic dynamism of the Second French Empire and the galas given at the palaces of the Tuileries and Compiègne encouraged the expansion of sales of Champagne wines. 

The cousins Eugène and Louis-Amand continued the tradition of exportation, extending it to include the Americas. The house of Chanoine Frères again grew on the rue du Commerce, the future avenue de Champagne.

 

1889

Eugène’s son Henri (1857-1913), the sixth generation of the Chanoine dynasty, took over management of a prosperous house whose vineyards stretched over Épernay, Hautvillers, Dizy, Chouilly, and Pierry.

The year of the Exposition Universelle (World’s Fair), more than 32 million visitors from all over the world came to Paris to admire the progress of industry, the sciences, and the arts of republican France. Champagne flowed and the house of Chanoine Frères exported it to the four corners of the world.

 

1919

Henri, who passed on prematurely in 1913, was spared seeing his Champagne cellars ravaged by German troops in 1914 and his house destroyed by the bombardments in July 1918. Taken over by a friend of the family, Monsieur Droz, the House of Chanoine Frères resumed business and quickly began exporting to the new European countries of Greater Serbia, Hungary, Romania, Poland, and the Baltic countries. 

In 1919, a ship carrying a cargo of 1904-vintage Chanoine Champagne was sunk by a stray mine in the Baltic Sea; Danish divers brought up a few bottles from her hold 80 years later.

1991

Monsieur Philippe Baijot takes over management of Chanoine Frères and re-launches the business. He has the conviction that Chanoine Frères is a part of the heritage of the Champagne region and is determined to return it to a preeminent role in the world of Champagne. His ambition is to mount major industrial and commercial projects for the House.

Chanoine Champagnes are returning in force and successfully beginning to conquer new generations of consumers through modern free distribution.

 
 

1996

Chanoine Frères builds one of the first and largest above-ground cellars in the Champagne region on the Allée du Vignoble in Reims. The following year, Chanoine Frères launches a new Champagne cuvée that would achieve great success: Tsarine.

With its innovative fluted bottle evoking one of the domes of St. Basil’s, Tsarine is a tribute to the historic and privileged relations between Chanoine and Russia that reach back to the 18th century. Already in 1999, Tsarine Cuvée Premium was awarded 3 stars in the Hachette Wine Guide.

 

2001

Madame Isabelle Tellier is appointed Head Wine-Maker of the House of Chanoine Frères. One of the first women to hold that position in a Champagne house, in a few years, with audacity and recognized talent, Isabelle Tellier develops cuvées of superb quality for Chanoine and Tsarine.

 

2005

Tsarine Rosé comes into being; meanwhile, Chanoine Grande Réserve and Chanoine Premier Cru receive high notes in the Hachette Wine Guide.

 

2007

As Tsarine Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs is being launched, its "brother," Chanoine Blanc de Blancs, is listed as an “instant favorite” by the Hachette Wine Guide.

 

2009

Tsarine’s launch of its prestige cuvée Tzarina is widely noticed, as is its Matryoshka Russian Doll packaging collection.

 

2013

The commercial dynamic continues with the launch of the Chanoine Frères Réserve Privée line, brut and rosé, giving the house’s original cuvée a new impetus.

 

2019

Two happy events mark the year: The launch of Tsarine’s Orium cuvée and the first vintage cuvée of the Chanoine Frères Réserve Privée line – the 2013 vintage. Isabelle Tellier, Head Wine-Maker, receives her sixtieth distinction for a cuvée created for the House of Chanoine Frères.

 

2030

The House of Chanoine Frères continues its history and will celebrate its tercentenary.

It cultivates its heritage, continues to innovate, and accelerates the development of Chanoine and Tsarine, which attract and win the loyalty of more and more consumers in France and in the world.

«La Maison Chanoine Frères vient de loin, voit loin et va loin»

  • LinkedIn - Gris Cercle
  • Instagram

Made by Diptyque

Copyright © Champagne Chanoine Frères 2019

Tous droits réservés

 

Depuis 1730

Fondée en 1730, Chanoine Frères est la deuxième plus ancienne Maison de champagne.

 

Une Maison qui, près de trois siècles plus tard, continue à développer son héritage et à transmettre le plaisir du champagne, de génération en génération, en France et dans le monde.

1730

Sous le règne de Louis XV, Pierre Chanoine (1698-1774), jeune marchand, innove et fait creuser en 1730 les premières caves à vins de champagne à Épernay.

Il est l'un des premiers à assembler divers crus de la région pour mettre en bouteille différents vins de Champagne. Pierre s’est judicieusement installé faubourg de la folie, sur le passage de la nouvelle route royale qui ouvre la France à l’Europe.

 

1741

Visionnaire et dynamique, Pierre Chanoine parcourt le continent et expédie ses vins de Champagne vers les cours royales et princières de France et d'Europe jusqu'en  Russie où la jeune tsarine, Elisabeth Petrovna vient d'être couronnée. Elle adore les fêtes et les bals costumés où pétillent le champagne et l'esprit français.

 

1762

Le fils aîné de Pierre, Jean-Baptiste Chanoine (1724-1790) grand marchand et notable champenois, développe les affaires et expédie ses flacons de "saute-bouchon". Le champagne poursuit sa conquête de l'aristocratie, en France, en Angleterre, aux Pays-Bas et dans les cours de Frédéric le Grand en Prusse et de Catherine II, tsarine de toutes les Russies.

 

1787

Les frères Jacques-Louis (1754-1844) et Pierre II Chanoine (1759-1824), fils de Jean-Baptiste et petits-fils du fondateur, se sont associés. Ils fondent ensemble en 1787 une Maison dédiée exclusivement aux vins de champagne.

La révolution française adopte à son tour le champagne lors de la Fête de la Fédération, le 14 juillet 1790 au Champ de Mars à Paris.

 

1815

À la 4ème génération, les fils de Pierre, les frères Jean-Baptiste (1784-1855) et Jean-Louis (1787-1874) prennent la relève. L’entreprise prend officiellement le nom de Chanoine Frères en 1815, scellant ainsi l'esprit de famille qui préside aux destinées de la Maison. 

C'est l'année du congrès de Vienne ; les diplomates de l'Europe entière célèbrent la paix retrouvée lors des soupers au champagne du prince de Talleyrand.

Les affaires prospèrent, les frères Chanoine acquièrent de plus grandes caves faubourg du commerce. Jean-Louis sera maire d'Épernay de 1841 à 1848.

 

1855

Les frères Chanoine transmettent à leurs fils respectifs Eugène (1818-1900) et Louis-Amand (1814-1891), une maison florissante. Le dynamisme économique du Second Empire, les fêtes aux Tuileries et à Compiègne, favorisent l'expansion des ventes de vins de champagne.

Les cousins Eugène et Louis-Amand poursuivent la tradition d'exportation et expédient désormais vers les Amériques. La Maison Chanoine Frères s'agrandit encore rue du commerce, future avenue de Champagne.

 

1889

Fils d'Eugène, Henri (1857-1913), 6ème génération de la dynastie Chanoine prend la direction d'une Maison prospère dont les vignobles s'étendent à Épernay, Hautvillers, Dizy, Chouilly et Pierry. 

L'année de l'Exposition Universelle, plus de 32 millions de visiteurs du monde entier viennent à Paris admirer les progrès de l'industrie, des sciences et des arts de la France républicaine. Le champagne coule à flot tandis que la Maison Chanoine Frères l'exporte aux quatre coins du monde.

 

1919

Henri, disparu prématurément en 1913, aura le bonheur de ne pas voir ses caves de champagne ravagées par les troupes allemandes en 1914, puis sa maison soufflée sous les bombardements de juillet 1918. Reprise par un ami de la famille, Monsieur Droz, la Maison Chanoine Frères relance ses activités et expédie très vite vers les nouveaux pays européens, Grande Serbie, Hongrie, Roumanie, Pologne, pays baltes.

En 1919, un navire portant une cargaison de champagne Chanoine millésime 1904 est coulé par une mine résiduelle en mer Baltique, d'où des plongeurs danois remonteront quelques flacons 80 ans plus tard.

1991

Monsieur Philippe Baijot prend la direction de Chanoine Frères et relance la Maison. Il considère que Chanoine Frères fait partie du patrimoine de
la Champagne et veut lui redonner un rôle prééminent dans l'univers du champagne. Il a l'ambition de développer pour cette Maison de grands projets industriels et commerciaux.

Les champagnes Chanoine reviennent en force et partent avec succès à la conquête des nouvelles générations de consommateurs à travers la libre distribution moderne.

 
 

1996

Chanoine Frères construit à Reims, allée du Vignoble, l'une des premières et des plus grandes caves hors-sol de la Champagne.
L'année suivante, Chanoine Frères lance une nouvelle cuvée de champagne appelée à un grand succès, Tsarine. Hommage aux relations historiques fondatrices et privilégiées que la Maison a entretenues dès le XVIIIe siècle avec la Russie, Tsarine innove avec son flacon en verre torsadé.
Dès 1999, Tsarine Cuvée Premium obtient 3 étoiles au guide Hachette des vins.

 

2001

Madame Isabelle Tellier est nommée Chef de cave de la Maison Chanoine Frères. L'une des premières femmes à occuper la fonction dans une Maison de champagne, Isabelle Tellier va développer en quelques années, avec audace et un talent reconnu, des cuvées de grande qualité pour Chanoine et Tsarine.

 

2005

Tandis que Tsarine Rosé voit le jour, Chanoine Grande Réserve et Chanoine Premier Cru sont distingués au guide Hachette des vins.

 

2007

Alors qu'est lancée Tsarine Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs, son «frère» Chanoine Blanc de Blancs est désigné «coup de cœur» du guide Hachette des vins.

 

2009

Tsarine crée l'événement en lançant sa cuvée de prestige Tzarina, et en éditant sa très remarquée collection de packaging «poupées russes».

 

2013

La dynamique commerciale se poursuit avec le lancement de la gamme Chanoine Frères Réserve Privée, brut et rosé, qui donnent un nouvel élan à la cuvée originelle de la Maison.

 

2019

Deux heureux événements marquent cette année : les lancements de la cuvée Orium  de Tsarine et du premier millésime de la gamme Chanoine Frères Réserve Privée, le millésime 2013.

Isabelle Tellier, Chef de cave, reçoit sa soixantième distinction au titre des cuvées créées pour la Maison Chanoine Frères.

 

2030

La Maison Chanoine Frères poursuit son histoire et va célébrer son tricentenaire.

 

La Maison cultive son héritage, continue d’innover et accélère le développement de Chanoine et Tsarine qui attirent, séduisent et fidélisent de plus en plus de  consommateurs en France et dans le monde.